[July 30]Let’s Meet the World: CARICOM

Do you know CARICOM? CARICOM stands for Caribbean Community comprise of 14 countries. Among them, six countries, Antigua and Barbuda, Suriname, Dominica, Saint Kitts and Nevis, Guyana and Grenada have participated in Yeosu Expo.

The entire area of the Caribbean Sea, and the island located in Caribbean Sea are collectively called Caribbean. Among these countries and islands, most of English speaking regions are gathered as CARICOM. Since the addition of Suriname which uses Dutch, and Haiti which uses French, CARICOM become multilingual in practice. And recently, CARICOM made Spanish as their second working language. CARICOM is organized to promote economic integration and cooperation among its members, to ensure that the benefits of integration are equitably share, and to coordinate foreign policy.

Today is the National Day of CARICOM, and four countries are going to show the performances to celebrate CARICOM’s National Day. Antigua and Barbuda performed “Sound of the Wave” which uses Steel Drums that makes exciting Caribbean rhythm. Suriname performed “Wateurasse” which is modern dance that reflects respect toward on water and Atlantic Ocean. Dominica’s performance team, Paix Bouche, performed “Day-Day “&” Hot, Hot, Hot ” which shows traditional dance of Dominica along with drums and singing. Saint Kitts and Nevis performed “The Heat of Saint Kitts”, which shows the history and cultures of the country.

<Suriname Performance>

<Antigua and Barbuda Steel Drum Performance >

<Dominica Performance>

<Dominica Performance with its Flag>

<St. Kitts and Nevis Performace>