Transforming to Yeony and Suny “Have you tried the puppet mask? I have”

by Song, Jieun (Yeony – Suny Reporter)

 

While Kkumdori was the mascot at Taejon Expo in 93, Yeony and Suny are the mascots at 2012 Yeosu Expo.

I will tell you my experience of participating in the promotion activities for the Expo while wearing the masks of Yeony and Suny!

Expo 2012 Yeosu Korea

Venue: New Port area in Yeosu, Korea
Period: May 12 – August 12, 2012

Expo 2012 Yeosu Korea Official homepage

http://www.expo2012.kr/main.html?mobile_at=Y

I went to Incheon International Airport early in the morning to promote Yeosu Expo to foreigners visiting Korea on January 12.

People are busily moving-where are they all going?  The feeling I always get when coming to the airport is there are so many places and things I do not know in this world.  This may be an obvious thought, however, the airport is the place where I most realize this.

Go!!

I was a college student supporter and wore the mask doll of Yeony, the mascot of Yeosu Expo.  I always wanted to become a mascot at an amusement park, and finally was able to become one.  But I don’t think I can do it again.. Once was enough for me! Lol

This is Yeony’s buddy Suny. Isn’t she pretty?  Who do you think is inside this lovely Suny mask doll?  🙂  I will give you the answer below~

Let’s start off to promote the 2012 Yeosu Expo~^0^

Oops!!!

My head is wobbling after just a few steps 😥   I am seriously worried whether I can successfully become Yeony today.

However, I feel relieved to have the college student supporters near Yeony and Suny. 

To briefly introduce 2012 Yeosu Expo, it is an event to seek an alternative for the common task for humanity related to the ocean and coast.  The disasters resulting from the ocean such as the rising sea level and destruction of marine ecosystem is not an issue limited to one nation, but is an issue experienced by the whole world.

The theme of 2012 Yeosu Expo, which is ‘The Living Ocean and Coast’suggests the most proper future image of the ocean, which is directly connected to human existence.

 I participated in the promotion activities for the Expo at Yeosu MBC (Munhwa Broadcasting Corporation).  You can see me (actually, it is Yeony) goofing and fooling around on TV.  Haha.

I am starting the promotion activities for foreigners. First, I take a photograph with a beautiful woman from Ukraine.

2012 Yeosu Expo is a world event newly acknowledging the value and meaning of the ocean and coast, making an opportunity to solve the pending issues of humanity such as climate change or destruction in ecosystem, and jointly seeking a method to overcome the crisis such as depletion of marine resources or climate change by urging the wise use and sustainable management of the ocean.

 I was happy that all interviewers gladly greeted us. Yeony and Suny were able to put more efforts through this encouragement! Lol~ We are the world! 

Moreover, 2012 Yeosu Expo is an event aiming for low carbon green growth, which is the development vision of Korea, by training new marine industries and developing marine science technology.

 This popular buddy is Suny!  We invite you with all our charms to come and visit Yeosu Expo♡

Oh~ This is Pororo!!  Pororo, the honorary ambassador for Visit Korea Year, also came to Incheon International Airport.  I hope Yeony and Suny becomes a beloved mascot just like Pororo. 

Pororo is loved by our college student supporters..

And Suny is loved by children…

“……”

Yeony… I am not lonely.  I’m ok!

Because I am the mascot of 2012 Yeosu Expo.  With pride, I will cheer up!!

After the filming, I finished the promotion activities for Yeosu Expo.

It was an extremely cold day, but I sweated a lot inside the Yeony mask doll^^;; I felt sorry for the other supporters, but was actually relieved that it was winter.

Answer

A manly male supporter performed pretty Suny. 

Both of us performing Yeony and Suny look exhausted.

I will talk a bit more about Yeony and Suny, the characters I performed this day.  ‘Yeony’ and ‘Suny,’ the mascots of 2012 Yeosu Expo were created by taking the plankton as the motive, which is the foundation of life protecting the ocean and coast.

Yeony expressed the beautiful color of the ocean in his hair, and in particular, the dark blue color expressed the infinite resources of the deep ocean.  ‘Yeony’ is a mascot promoting the successful hosting of Yeosu Expo with an image of ‘open.’

Suny takes red as the motive to symbolize the lives on the ocean and land, expressing the high-quality Expo with the images of ‘water,’ ‘superb,’ and ‘female.’

Yeony and Suny always welcome you all!!

